Destination Singapore

My journey started in Singapore airport when the first cab drove me to Jalan Besar Stadium. Near the Stadium, there was my hostel. “Where are you from?” taxi driver asked, the easiest way to start a conversation with a foreigner. “Nepal” I answered. “Nepal-ah” in Singlish taxi driver replied. I must tell you Singlish is a Singaporean verbal accent (Google for detailed understanding.) He was not fascinated by my answer so our conversation ended there. Not so overwhelmed by a taxi driver I rang the hotel bell. The door opened I went up to the reception. There was a beautiful lassie, she grinned at me and asked my passport.  she confirmed thru the system and took me to the mixed dorm and pointed my booth. I expressed my thanks to her. She told “Kei party vane vannus” I was stunned as she spoke Nepali. The meaning was “if you need anything, I’m there.” So we talk some pieces of stuff just to chat in Nepali.

Sassy-Singapore

The Southern part of Malay Peninsular is where the beautiful Singapore located. The place is easy to move due to English-speaking individuals, its infrastructures, and awesome walking route. Within 10 days of stay, I had 6 days workshop on social media marketing. There was less time to discover Singapore all-inclusive. My goals were precise and static. As I have less expectation with Singapore in natural beauty. Since I belong to the country of Mt. Everest and one horned rhino bated breath was obvious. I planned my journey as it started with
The un-miss-able Garden by the Bay

Singapore is popular with its sculpture. You can see artistic sculpture all around the city. A Garden by the Bay is one of them where nature meets sculpture to become a Super Tree Grove. It is a 50-meter height manmade tree. “Hello. ma’am! Let us begin! I’m your tour guide,” someone whispered. “Wow, Thanks! So shall we?” I responded. We tread on the OCBC skywalks, the suspended way that connects grove. It is 22 meters high and takes a 30-minute walk. We entered the cloud forest and learned about vegetation and environment. The walk around the choreographed pitter-patter in the glitzy Grove was interestingly beautiful at night. Those fairy lights smoldered the instant for the lifetime. “How you feel? See! You are walking on stars.” Sam asked. In addition, I sought. The garden resembled Miss Joaquin, the national flower of Singapore. The waterfront promenade was picturesque for my Instagram. “Hey, Sam!” clicked.

Everything that I saw was stunning, a lovely night at gardens by the bay.

Tasteful Tamil Thali

In the hall of the hostel, I realized people are waiting for me. We all agreed to the plan for south-Indian Dinner. Thali refers to a plate. Usah was happy as we agreed. She belongs to the Brahmin community of Tamil, representing one of the third biggest ethnicities in Singapore. Same as Nepali Thali, it contains, white rice in the main course. Added with pulses and lentils cooked together. “We call it Samber” and this is Rasam.” Usah pointed a salty sour soup. Deep-fried Potatoes, one Pumpkin Curry, Mango Pickles, Fried “papad” and Curd Served with sourly raw onions. End of the meal there was tapioca pudding as a desert. Food contained lots of Lentils and herbs. Every dish has a pungent smell. Dinner was flavorsome; it bestowed our new friendship a fresh bond.

Fancied Merlion EMBODIES EXCEPTIONALITY

Merlion, a marketing icon of Singapore is around 8ft height. It is a mythical being with lion head in the physique of fish. Spouting water from its mouth to mine was my next snap near the statue. The glimpse of Merlion is must see a spot for tourist. There are 7 approved Merlion statues in Singapore. “Snap with the ‘cub’ and its ‘parent’ – at the Merlion Park for a memorable keepsake.” A person suggested me. “Thanks” I replied and took a picture. “Hey, Kaki Chop-Chop later can have” Sam started to walk. I dumbfounded with Singlish and move along.

Sensational Sentosa

The Merlion at night was colorful to watch. At the side, there was some stick on and messages on the wall of Sentosa logo. Half a day tour in Sentosa was insufficient. An hour on a beach was a bad choice, as it reduced excursion time. I roamed whole Sentosa’s attractions it was beautiful. Looking love birds another magical show with light and sound effects and Clicked pictures at Universal Studios. At the end, I promised myself to re-visit it once again in my lifetime to enjoy Sentosa to the fullest.

Un-Explainable Esplanade

For the deeper understanding of love for the arts to Singaporeans, I made an extensive tour to Esplanade. The Durian shaped architecture is the eminence booster of the building. “Where are you from?” juvenile asked me. “Nepal! Do you know?” I replied. “Yes! BTW…I’m Mohammad from Egypt “he spoke. We started our conversation. He was also a solo traveler and saw me wandering. “Let’s explore it together. What you say?” Mohammad offered. I said “okay” and move along. Through the invitees and staffs, we found more about the buildings and its offerings. There was a free visual arts show named “Dwellings” in the Esplanade Tunnel. It was a beautiful creation by Vietnamese artist Bui Cong Khanh who showed a particular community of slum dwellers in film mode.  Esplanade is the tenet behind the management of the Art Centre and the development of the arts in Singapore. The front of the hall and the back stage everything was managed so even and smooth as a flash mob as their plan for making arts accessible.

Care-free Clarke Quay

The historic riverside quay was a dynamic nightly experience. The place full of restaurants’, clubs’ live music, Disco. The place was quite pricey but it cup-tie with Singapore standards. We started with the boat tour to the entire length of the river gives an advantage to interesting sightseeing passing through the landmark of Merlion and Esplanade on its way. G-max River bungee was another attraction, friends asked to hoop in but I chose to stay and watch them. It wasn’t scary enough to pay for. Friends planned to go into disco, I denied as it was not my curiosity. I found a company with Sam to walk to the water edge. “Look, there!” Sam screamed. Magnificent Marina Bay Sands was directly ahead of us. The night was much more than a picturesque. We entered to ‘earshot’ a café-cum-bookstore. Shipping the cappuccino we discovered locally written fictions.

Unearthed memories

In the evening “I’m thinking of grabbing something to eat, do you want to come?” Sam asked. “Why not?” I grab my jacket and moved with him. Bonding over a conversation and a good meal is the best way to know someone. It’s great when you are traveling solo.

At Hostel I’ll often find dinner crew with Sam. During the day we all do our own thing but at night we connect up and catch some cheap yet great eats out on the town. These carried some of my favorite talks and memories of the Singapore.

 

Leave a Reply

